Notice of Exemption From AB 1482

Updated 5/1/24

A notice of exemption from AB 1482 is a notice that lets your tenants know that your rental property is exempt from AB 1482. This bill sets the maximum rent increase in California to 5% plus CPI, or at 10% (whichever is lower) per a 12 month period.

For the most up to date information on rent increases and AB 1482, please click here.

notice of exception from AB 1482

Do I need a notice of exemption from AB 1482?

This article was published on July 19th, 2020. This means there is action that all landlords would have already had to take whether their rental units are exempt or not.

All California rental properties are covered in AB 1482 except:

  • Homes that are NOT owned by a corporation, real estate investment trust (REIT), or an LLC where one member is a corporation, AND tenants have received notice that the unit is exempt from AB 1482 in the form required by the bill.
  • Rental property built within the past 15 years, including accessory dwelling units.
  • Any duplex where the owner occupied the unit before the other unit’s tenancy and continues to occupy the unit.
  • Housing restricted by a deed, regulatory restrictions, or other recorded document limiting the affordability to low or moderate income households.
  • Mobile homes.
  • Rental property subject to local ordinances that restrict rent increases to less than 5% plus CPI. (rent cap exemption only)
  • Single family homes where the owner occupies and rents at least 2 bedrooms or units (ADUs and JADUs). (just cause exemption only)
  • Owner occupied rental properties where tenant shares bathroom or kitchen facilities with the owner. (just cause exemption only)
  • Hotels
  • Rental property provided by non-profit hospitals, organizations such as churches, extended care for the elderly, adult care facilities etc. (just cause exemption only)

If your rental property is falls under any of these situations, you must provide a notice of exemption from AB 1482 to your tenants. New tenancies and renewals of tenancies as of July 1st, 2020 must incorporate the notice of exemption of AB 1482 into the rental agreement.

If you fail to provide this notice, your unit is NOT exempt from AB 1482 tenant protections.

On the other hand, if your rental property IS covered by this bill, you must provide written notice to your tenants explaining the just cause and rent cap tenant protections. For tenancies existing prior to July 1st, 2020, tenants must be properly notified before August 1st, 2020. Any new tenancies or renewals after July 1st, 2020, the notice must be incorporated in the lease.

If you have additional question about AB 1482, please read our FAQs.

New! Use our AB 1482 rent increase calculator!

How do I notify my tenants?

Fast Eviction Service is here to help! We can prepare this notice of exemption from AB 1482, notice to tenants explaining the just cause and rent cap protections and we can help incorporate this language into your lease. Please call us at 1-800-68686 or email us for assistance.